Weekly Food & Agriculture Update 11.9

Monday, November 9th, 2020


November 9, 2020

  • Election Update
  • Congressional Calendar
  • Electoral Process Timeline
  • Contact the Team


Joe Biden is the projected winner for the 2020 Presidential race after Pennsylvania was called for the former Vice President on Saturday and he achieved a predicted 290 electoral votes (it takes 270 to win). The race to the White House was projected by many polls to be a landslide for Democratic candidate and former Vice President Joe Biden; however, it turned into a waiting game for both he and the incumbent, President Donald Trump. Three states have yet to declare results: Georgia, North Carolina, and Alaska. Biden is currently leading in Georgia with President Trump leading in North Carolina and Alaska.

Additionally, President Trump has already launched lawsuits into Arizona, Nevada, Georgia, Michigan, and Pennsylvania and has indicated his campaign intends to launch more. Multiple lawsuits have already been dismissed in Pennsylvania, Nevada, Georgia, and Michigan.


While the GOP has held the majority in the Senate for several terms now, that majority was considered to be threatened heading into election night this year. However, the GOP appears to have avoided defeat in several races that were predicted to be competitive, and now the future of the majority of the Senate is in question as two Georgia races that will determine the balance head to a runoff. The race between Agriculture Committee member Kelly Loeffler (R-GA) and Democrat Raphael Warnock and the race between Georgia Republican Senator David Perdue and Democratic challenger Jon Ossoff will go to a runoff as none of the candidates reached the 50 percent vote threshold. The runoff will take place on January 5, so the true balance of the Senate won’t be decided until then.

Republican Roger Marshall won the Kansas race for the position left open by retiring Agriculture Committee Chairman Pat Roberts (R-KS). In terms of other Agriculture Committee races, Senators McConnell (R-KY), Ernst (R-IA), Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Smith (D-MN) and Durbin (D-IL) have all won their races. Other notable races include Senator John Cornyn’s (R-TX) victory over Democratic rival Mary Hegar and John Hickenlooper (D-CO) taking the seat of Republican incumbent Cory Gardner. In a tight race, Steve Daines (R-MT) retained his seat against Democrat and Montana Governor Steve Bullock. Democrats needed to gain four seats in the Senate to obtain a majority, and with the loss of Democratic Senator Doug Jones to Tommy Tuberville in Alabama, they have only managed a net gain of one seat so far.

House of Representatives 

It was anticipated before election night that Democrats would gain five to fifteen seats in the House of Representatives, adding to their majority. However, it was a disappointing night for Democrats on that front. Networks have projected that Democrats will retain control, although with a smaller majority, despite outspending Republicans by almost double. As of today, Democrats have won 215 seats, while Republicans have won 196 seats.

One of the biggest upsets for Democrats in the House was the defeat of Agriculture Committee Chairman and long-time representative, Collin Peterson (D-MN). In addition to Peterson, House Agriculture Committee Democrats lost other members with the defeat of Rep. Xochitl Torres Small by Republican Yvette Herrell in New Mexico’s 2nd Congressional District.

Several races remain uncalled in the House, including races for House Ag Committee Members TJ Cox (D-CA-21) and Anthony Brindisi (D-NY-22).

Congressional Calendar

  • November 18-19, 2020: House Democratic Leadership Elections
  • November 30, 2020: House Committee Chair Elections
  • December 11, 2020: Continuing resolution that has funded the government expires
  • January 3, 2021: The 117 Congress convenes
  • January 5, 2021: Georgia runoff election date
  • January 20, 2021: Inauguration Day
  • February 1, 2021: President’s Budget to be released

Electoral Process Timeline 

  • November 3, 2020: Election day where voters choose the Presidential candidate for whom they want state electors to vote.
  • Mid-November-December 14, 2020: Governors certify the results of the election in their state.
  • December 8, 2020: States make final decisions in any controversies over their electors at least six days before they meet.
  • December 14, 2020: Electors meet in their respective states and vote for the President and Vice President on separate ballots.
  • December 23, 2020: Electoral votes must be received by the President of the Senate and the archivist no later than nine days after the electors meet.
  • January 6, 2021: The Vice President of the United States, as Senate President, presides as Congress counts the votes. If no Presidential candidate wins 270 votes, the House of Representatives decides a winner. If no Vice Presidential candidate wins 270 votes, the Senate decides.
  • January 20, 2021: The President-elect takes the Oath of Office and becomes the President of the United States.

Contact the Team
Feel free to contact Michael Torrey, Tara Smith, Cassandra Kuball, Jessica Kuney, Barbara Patterson, Perry Harlow, or Brandon Barnett with any questions or comments.